Lauren's Top 100 Films

Lauren's Top 100 Horror Films of All Time

My "Top 100" list (ranked) is here:  https://www.imdb.com/list/ls085438338/ Runners Up (chronological) The Mummy (1932) Let...

Sunday, September 23, 2018

Backcountry (2014)

 Bad.



Gerald's Game (2017)

 Bad.



The Love Witch (2016)

The Love Witch was awesome! 💯 Definitely inspired by her fashion sense (not necessarily in this pic, when she goes to high tea...  but not necessarily not, either...)



The Dead Zone (1983)

The Dead Zone was great! Young Christopher Walken is still so creepy looking 😅, though surprisingly with moments of charm. I love Cronenberg.



The Conjuring (2013)

Terra and I watched The Conjuring (2013). It was definitely scary, even though Terra and I are #verybrave. 😂 However, this is my least favorite kind of horror, aka jump scare. Definitely could not enjoy a second time, and therefore, do not recommend.



What Ever Happened to Baby Jane? (1962)

Jamie, Jake and I watched What Ever Happened to Baby Jane? (1962). It was definitely disturbing, but we couldn't get over the fact that Blanche is so ridiculously passive in her attempts to get away from her crazy sister. Not sure if that's a function of the times/gender roles, or if Blanche was just kind of a wimp. 🤣 Also now that damn daddy song is stuck in my head. 😅 I will say, it was interesting how the film explored sibling rivalry and female/child exploitation.



Ginger Snaps (2001)

Ginger Snaps (2001) was amazing - WOW!! Really powerful stuff. And in the vein of some of my other favorite horror movies, Låt den rätte komma in (2008) and Når dyrene drømmer (2014). Quite possibly inspired the later films?



We Are What We Are (2013)

UPDATE: In the final assessment, I think this is not a good movie. It lacks depth. And in the end, mostly jump scares, and grotesque and uninventive violence.

Whoa We Are What We Are (2013) was super goddamn intense. Not too many movies leave me with heart pounding, thinking about puking. 😳 (Last one was the insane 2017 short film Julkita, which remains the most f*cked up thing I've ever seen.) Not sure yet if I think this was actually a GOOD movie tho... gonna have to let this one sit for a minute...



Saturday, September 22, 2018

Santa Sangre (1989)

WOWWWW Santa Sangre (1989) is one the best movies I've ever seen, across genres. Such richness and depth of emotion! So very strange and haunting!! Brilliant. I knew I loved Dario Argento (Suspiria is my all-time favorite horror movie), but now I am pretty damn impressed by Claudio Argento, too! What a talented family.



Willow Creek (2014)

Willow Creek (2014) was pretty bad. Not quite as bad as Backcountry, but honestly, why do people keep trying to make Blair Witch? Once you've had the best, don't mess with the rest!



Dressed to Kill (1980)

Despite having the advantage of having been made in the 80s, aka the best horror decade, this movie was pretty terrible. The dialogue was kind of hilarious, tho. For one example of a representative exchange:

Doctor Robert Elliott: How are things going with you and Mike?

Kate Miller: Fine.

Doctor Robert Elliott: Good.

Kate Miller: [considering for a moment] No, they're not fine. What a stupid word that is. He gave me one of his wham-bang specials today and I'm mad at him. Isn't that right? Shouldn't I be mad at him?

Doctor Robert Elliott: Yeah. Did you tell him?

Kate Miller: Of course not. I moaned with pleasure at his touch - isn't that what every man wants?

Doctor Robert Elliott: I don't know. Is it?

Kate Miller: Don't start that stuff with me.



A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night (2014)

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night (2014), directed by Ana Lily Amirpour, was superb! Have you guys seen it?? If not, please move it to the top of your Watch list! Also, that Arash Marandi is quite the cutie!! 😊 A tremendous and truly original film.



Autopsy of Jane Doe (2016)

Autopsy of Jane Doe had a reasonably creative premise, and definitely had me on the edge of my seat, but in the end, cursed to be just another #jumpscarefail.



Slither (2006)

Slither (2006) was great!! Can't believe I hadn't seen it before, actually. I love Michael Rooker, and I love creature features, I love body horror, and I love practical effects, so this was what we call a "win, win, win, win." Thanks for watching with me, Mark!



A Field in England (2014)

A Field in England (2014) was great! But in no way would I call this a horror movie. It was an interesting blend of styles, but what I would maybe call a "gritty psychadelic drama." Pretty funny, too! Cool seeing Shearsmith outside of League of Gentlemen!



The Conjuring 2 (2016)

The Conjuring 2 was pretty terrible. Better than the first one, but that's not saying much. Thanks Mark for sticking it out with me!



Cronos (1993)

Cronos (1993) was soooo good!! Really inventive and visually arresting. Another gem from Guillermo del Toro, with Ron Perlman convincingly portraying a brutal thug. Surprising moments of comedy and poignant emotion, too. Fabulous!



Drag Me to Hell (2009)

Some of the special effects were very cool, but the overt sexism was disappointing.  I also just found it impossible to care about the dishrag protagonist. Would not recommend.