Mark and I watched the 2011 remake of Fright Night, starring Colin Farrell as the vampire next door. I love the 1985 original (it's on my top 100 list!), so I was both excited and skeptical about watching the remake. This one was really a mixed bag. The pacing, action, dialogue, and atmosphere were great. But the CGI was frightful (not in a good way), and the portrayal of women was just maddening. As a human woman, I'm used to women being given the short end of the stick in cinema, and objectification of women is a real issue in horror as a genre, so I'm honestly pretty inured to it -- but this was just pathetic. Truly hard to watch 2 hours of damsels and bimbos. 🤮 Someone oughta remake the remake haha.

No comments:
Post a Comment