Lauren's Top 100 Films

Lauren's Top 100 Horror Films of All Time

My "Top 100" list (ranked) is here:  https://www.imdb.com/list/ls085438338/ Runners Up (chronological) The Mummy (1932) Let...

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Get Out (2017)

Don't love being laid up in bed on the heating pad, but did finally get to watch Get Out - WOW that movie is amazing! Trenchant, funny, and grippingly suspenseful. 10/10 for sure!



Snakes on A Plane (2006)

Mm Snakes on A Plane - best movie or worst movie? Impossible to decide 😂🐍✈️



It (2017)

It was definitely compelling while watching, but I don't like horror movies that have so many jump scares... Not a good movie.



Monday, September 25, 2017

Witch's Sabbath (2005)

Witch's Sabbath (2005)... sort of an Evil Dead x soft-core porn. It's garbage, but I liked it, frankly.

Saturday, September 23, 2017

Vamps (2012)

Ultra-girly vampires who abstain from human blood fall in love and get involved in wacky highjinks. A few good laughs, by turns kooky and maudlin. 1.5/5 blood drops.



Planet of Vampires (1965)

I love Mario Bava, but Planet of Vampires (1965) is not his finest work. And there is not a single vampire in the whole goddamn movie, so IDK how it got that title. 😂 The Italian title, Terrore Nello Spazio (Terror in Space) is more accurate. It does have nice atmosphere, and was clearly a strong influence on Alien, so it might be worth seeing for those reasons, but it has no place in a vampire flick list!



Queen of Blood AKA Planet of Blood (1966)

Phew! You'll be glad to know it IS possible to make a good movie about vampires in space. :) Queen of Blood AKA Planet of Blood (1966) was a delight.



Mr. Vampire (1985)

Mr. Vampire (1985) is one of the dopest movies I've ever seen - definitely top 20. Kung fu vampires, great plot, great humor, just really fun to watch. Definitely recommend to all!!



Let's Scare Jessica to Death (1971)

Let's Scare Jessica to Death (1971) was super creepy and scary!! 😰 Reminded me of Rosemary's Baby. Seems to have inspired a variety of later horror films... from Friday the 13th to The Others.



Blade (1998)

LOVED the party scene at the beginning of this movie... 



Countess Dracula (1971)

Countess Dracula (1971) was soo good!! A cruel countess, longing for her lost beauty, discovers the fountain of eternal youth... is virgin's blood!



Kiss of the Damned (2013)

Sibling rivalry is the theme of this sensuous fluff. Djuna and Paolo are happy in their quiet, restrained vampire love affair... until Djuna's psycho sister, Mimi, shows up. Pretty and fun film with some very easy-on-the-eyes actors.



Vampire's Kiss (1988)

Watched Vampire's Kiss (1988) with Terra tonight - WOW what an awesome movie!! Love the enigma that is Nicolas Cage 😂 Also thank you Terra for introducing me to this gem: https://youtu.be/aeXIoBnu2MU



Son of Dracula (1943)

Son of Dracula (1943) has an interesting love triangle on a large plantation - early inspiration for Interview with the Vampire, perhaps. Nice all around! ⚰️🦇🦇👍



Dracula's Daughter (1936)

Dracula's Daughter (1936) features a showdown between the ancient powers of darkness and the modern powers of psychiatry. 😝 



Drácula (1931)

Drácula (1931) -- filmed with the same sets as the English version, at night, with a Spanish-speaking crew. I love Bela Lugosi, but I confess I prefer Carlos Villarías as the bloodsucking count!! Love the ambiance in this version, too.